Of Holidays and Lights

Holiday decorations make me happy. All of them. Holiday not important. And like few things in life, more is better.

Right now, I’m basking in all the people who have kept up their Halloween decorations in this second week of November. Wandering around the leave strewn streets in my neighborhood, I see a few brave hold outs; their houses covered in fake cobwebs, plastic tombstones and sometimes giant lit spiders. Or my most recent favorite: pumpkins eating other pumpkins. Even the Richard Driehaus Museum near me at work had it’s giant fuzzy spider climbing its building…at least last Friday it did. One place near my folks had a giant pumpkin headed being and then many many bodies and severed heads hanging from the trees.
Perfect.
I should also admit that Halloween is my Christmas; it’s my favorite time of the year. But I’m keen on Christmas lights and other decorations. It’s one of my favorite parts of the season. Nothing like a dark street that is suddenly made aglow by white and multicolored lights. Or the vision of a happy Christmas tree glowing from within a warm home.
Or Zoolights.
And really, there is no such thing as too many lights. It makes me even happier to see people who have probably gone overboard with their celebration of the season and whose energy bills will be impressive. I don’t care. There is majesty in that excess. Maybe it’s an eagerness to delight. Or it could be a desire to show the neighbors up. I don’t care. I love it. And not in an ironic way. Just pure enjoyment. I want animations, music tied to light flickers.. all of it.
Maybe I feel that it is another admittedly different way of celebrating the world; one strand of light bulbs at a time.
Leave a Reply

