Part 4: Shanghai

And then it was our last day in Shanghai, our last day in China. For now. I was immensely glad to have this trip to Shanghai and Hong Kong. They are really very different cities. After a few days in both cities, I really felt that I had a handle on Hong Kong. Shanghai, on the other hand, still eluded me. Both have amazing skyscrapers though Hong Kong appears to have more. Shanghai is truly vast; I actually didn’t know it was the biggest city in the world (officially and unofficially). I knew the biggest city had to be in China but I didn’t realize it was Shanghai. I felt that I really needed at least another day there for an introductory visit. I don’t know if I’ll ever really get a handle on Shanghai but I’m okay with trying.

Our last stop before leaving for the airport was the Jade Buddha. It’s located in a Buddhist temple complex. There are several buildings, all containing truly remarkable statues of Buddha and other g-ds/spirits. The central temple had three golden Buddhas with beautifully bright-colored fabric hanging from the ceiling. Behind the 3 Buddhas, there was another Buddha, supposedly a female Buddha per the tour guide I overhead. Around the Buddha was an entire world of statues of all sorts of sizes. It reminded me of the medieval paintings that had G-d in the center and then everyone around sized according to their importance. A side temple had other statues, a reclining Buddha, and a multi-limbed G-d.

Reclining Buddha in the Jade Buddha Temple, Shanghai, China

Reclining Buddha in the Jade Buddha Temple, Shanghai, China

Buddhas in the Main Temple of the Jade Buddha Temple, Shanghai, China

Buddhas in the Main Temple of the Jade Buddha Temple, Shanghai, China

But the piece de la resistance was the Jade Buddha itself. It is located in a separate building. It’s located in a truly impressive room. The walls are beautifully carved wood. Overhead there are dozens of little golden Buddha statues. And in the center, there is the Jade Buddha itself, serene and majestic. Worth checking out.

And that’s all she wrote…until we talk about food.

Leave a Reply

