Part 4: Food in China

Now for a brief word on tea. As I may have mentioned before, I’m fan of the stuff. Right now, it’s the only word that I know in Mandarin: Cha. It makes me happy that its pretty much the same word for tea in Portuguese, Swahili, and Hindi. Oh those wacky Indo-European languages. Huzzah.

Anyway, I generally drink black tea but I made a point of only drinking green tea while in China. When in Rome… And it was lovely. The most notable of the teas was my flowering tea at the teahouse in Shanghai near the Yuyuan gardens. I talked about it previously but it bears repeating. It was truly a magnificent experience. It came in a clear pot with a little ceramic cup. I was told to wait two minutes. During that time, I watched this tiny bundle blossom into a lovely yellowish green flower. The tea itself was quite good though it got a wee strong towards the end. Highly recommend it and the tea house.

Flowering Tea, Shanghai, China
Flowering Tea, Shanghai, China

The other tea that I really liked was longjing tea, a green tea. I was served this a lot by default. I really grew quite fond of it. It was fairly light and didn’t get too bitter. I try not to put sugar into my tea while I was there since it seemed like blasphemy. Sometimes green tea gets a bit bitter as a result. But longjing seemed to hold up. So that was wonderful.

Conclusion: drink green tea in China. It’s wonderful.

That’s all for now!

 

 

Leave a Reply

