Review: Our Dancing Daughters

This weekend, I saw Our Dancing Daughters (1928) at the Music Box’s Second Silent Saturday. This film was fantastic in so many ways. Joan Crawford plays the lead, a wealthy flapper, and is absolutely wonderful. The basic plot is that Joan Crawford is the life of the party. She meets a stranger and falls for him. However, Anita Page pursues him too but she just wants his money. It’s an interesting story that has an unusual moral to it, especially for its day.

Joan Crawford is all delight in this film. I don’t think I’ve seen her in anything else but I’ve been meaning to. And now I definitely shall. The highlight of the film is the scene where she begins dancing on a table at a party. While dancing, she is the embodiment of joie de vivre . I feel pure joy watching her. I swear that the scene was a highlight of my cinema watching of the year. It’s possibly one of the best scenes in cinema in my opinion.

The movie also has wonderful art deco scenes. The announcer of the series talked about how it was normal to get distracted from the plot by the sheer beauty of the film. There are the amazing drool worthy costumes of the characters. Lots of shiny dresses and ruffled fur coats. Then there are the amazing sets of Joan Crawford’s home, the Yacht Club, and much more.

It’s very interesting from a moral point of view. It reflects the changing of the times. Joan Crawford is the wild girl but good, while Anita Page is the “good girl” but full of deceit and envy. It’s not what I expected. I know that there were lots of films about flappers who are terrible people (loose morals, you know) who come to bad ends. Here, it’s a lot more interesting. And the movie definitely makes Joan Crawford into the heroine. But it’s not completely progressive. There is a whole subplot involving a friend who gave up her virginity to a man before she dated her husband. Those scenes are a bit painful to watch as the couple tries to deal with it. But I suppose I’ll take a little progress over nothing.

That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

