Part 3: Spring in NYC

On Saturday morning, the farmer’s market was even bigger! We wandered around, seeing even more vendors including one that sold sheep skins and yarn. My parents had bought a rug from there about a year ago, which my fiancé’s dog took a nice bite out of it several months later. Thankfully, my parents are super understanding with dogs. So my mom asked me to tell the vendor about it. He thought it was hilarious.

For breakfast, I went to Mighty Pie at Union Square. It’s a hole in the wall with a seemingly permanent location in the square. I ordered a cheese pie that was delicious. It was super big though and I overdid it by eating the whole thing. Warm cheese and dough. Mmm. I probably would go back for lunch rather than breakfast (I prefer small breakfasts).

Then we went off to the MOMA. We had tickets to see “Latin America in Construction: Architecture 1955-1980.” It was an interesting exhibition but not my favorite. I’m not sure I love exhibitions about architecture. I love going to see architecture itself; I’m a member of the Chicago Architecture Foundation. But somehow sketches of buildings and models don’t appeal to me. I would prefer photos but that’s slightly different. It was worth a walk through. I did enjoy these six films synched together on TVs that represented six major cities of Latin America from Havana to Buenos Aires. Researchers and artists found old archival footage from the 1st half of the century and spliced it together. At times, the six screens would show the same footage to emphasize commonalities in development. Quite interesting. There were also some impressive photos of Brasilia. What a fascinating place. Clearly built without people in mind!

I did like that the exhibition was trying to show the influence of Latin America on architecture. It makes the case that often we think of architecture as imported from the US or Europe to Latin America. However, Latin America was developing its own architecture design, maybe even exporting it. There was one building sketch for a hospital in Uruguay in 1920s that looked like it would have been built on our skyline today. Amazing.

I wandered down to the Modern galleries to say hello to my friends. I checked out the Magrittes, tipped my hat at Yves Tanguy. I gazed reverently at Brancusi’s sculptures soaring in space. I stood awestruck at my favorite painting there “The Three Musicians” by Picasso. It’s the perfect representation of jazz to me. Cubism is jazz. Then I wandered over to see the Gustav Klimt’s other painting of Adele Bloch-Bauer (not the one in the movie but another one). Simply beautiful.

I made a special tour to look at Vincent Van Gogh’s “The Starry Night.” Usually I pass by it since it’s always surrounded by tourists (like the Mona Lisa) but Macy’s Flower show gave me pause. Even though it’s over-reproduced, it’s still an amazing painting. I managed to squeeze up close to it and gaze into that night sky. And I didn’t take any photos.

Then we went off to check out Bryant Park. We had been told that Bryant Park had these artisanal vendors. Sadly, it must have been too early in the season since none of these vendors were there. But it’s a lovely park with a statue to Gertrude Stein. While we wandered around it, some folks were teaching others how to juggle and others were playing pingpong on convenient tables nearby. There were signs for bird watching club. Nice vibe.

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

